What Will Your Next Chapter Hold?

August 19, 2012

Last weekend we celebrated my mom’s 60th birthday.

Notwithstanding the Oprah show on OWN with the same name, the Next Chapter was the obvious theme choice for this milestone birthday.

My planning began back in March when I started researching ideas. Mom’s favorite color is purple, she loves to read and she loves to travel, especially to Italy. I kept all of these things in mind as I was brainstorming.

My initial list included:

Boookmark invitations
60 Lottery tickets
Journals as favors- so guests could write about their “Next Chapter”
A book drive to donate books
Barnes & Nobles gift cards as favors

Unfortunately due to budget and time constraints, I wasn’t able to implement all of my ideas. But in the end I was very pleased with the results and my mom got a birthday party she will remember forever.

From the initial list, here is what we ended up doing:

Paint chip/bookmark invitations
Tissue paper flowers as chair decorations
Book planter table centerpieces
60 lottery tickets
Lottery ticket favors

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mom loves Italian and travelling to Italy, so the menu reflected her passions:  Caprese, Prosciutto e Melone, Arugala Salad with Figs and Prosciutto, Pasta Salad, Chicken Piccata- which all of my aunts helped to make.

 

 

 

 

And my piece de resistance – served with dessert (Toffee Tiramisu!)?  Each guest received one lottery ticket.  Who know what their Next Chapter might hold?

Leave a Reply

