St. Patrick’s Day

March 16, 2013

Phew, I made it.  It’s only one day before, but I did promise a post before the holiday.

St. Patrick’s Day is a holiday I’ve always struggled with decoration-wise.

The decorations I’ve seen are usually cheesy, bar/drinking-related.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Back in my days working in bars/restaurants, St. Patrick’s Day was one of my favorite nights to work because it was a money-maker.

For several years in a row, a local Irish bar hired me and a friend to paint faces.  We’d paint shamrocks on faces for a couple bucks apiece and got the keep all the money.  After 6 hours of this, that added up!

I would do that during the day and then go on to my regular bar shift and work the rest of the night.

Sometimes I’d wear a green bra that peeked out under a black top.  Or one year I used green food coloring and died a garter belt green and wore it under a short skirt.  Hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

Now that I’m a mom-to-be though, my St. Patrick’s Day is more about kiddos.  Even though I’m not due until Mother’s Day this year, I’m already thinking about how I will celebrate with my daughter next year.

Luckily I still have that food coloring because this year I used it on this Lime Cheesecake Bars recipe to make a fun treat.

Lime Cheesecake Bars

Lime Cheesecake Bars

I adapted these easy no-bake Lime Cheesecake Bars from a Food Network Recipe and was very pleased with this result:

St. Patrick's Day 002
(As were our guests we served them too…)

Here are a few more ideas to make this traditionally adult holiday, a bit more kid-friendly:

Lucky Charms

A Lucky Breakfast

via Thoughtfully Simple

Lucky Charm Treats

Lucky Charm Treats

via Bloom

Rainbow Brite

Rainbow Brite

via Creative Juice

Irish Eggs

Irish Eggs

Napkin

via Sheek Shindigs

Golden Favors

Golden Favors

via Bloom

Pink & Green

via Catch My Party

Baby

via Pink Newborn Services

Being a mom-to-be, I just couldn’t resist throwing this one in….

Check out more lucky St. Patty’s Day ideas on my Pinterest board.

One thought on “St. Patrick’s Day

Leave a Reply

